Quick Tip: Get CPU temperature

  • Context

I had a problem with my water cooling system on the desktop and I needed to check the temperature of the CPU.

I replaced the water cooling and wanted to get the CPU temperature directly in Windows w/o installing a third party software.

  • Issue

The task manager in Windows doesn’t display the CPU temperature but you can get the GPU temperature. Nice, but it’s not what I was looking for.

  • Solution

To get it in Celsius, you need to divide by 10 and substract 273. The original value is stored as tenths of Kelvin.

(Get-CimInstance -Namespace root/WMI -ClassName MSAcpi_ThermalZoneTemperature | 
Select-Object -Expand CurrentTemperature )/10 - 273.15

6 thoughts on “Quick Tip: Get CPU temperature

  1. I’m getting exactly the same result on my machine. (27.85). I test again later, but the result is a bit strange.

  2. (Get-CimInstance -Namespace root/WMI -ClassName MSAcpi_ThermalZoneTemperature |
    >> Select-Object -Expand CurrentTemperature )/10 – 273.15
    Get-CimInstance : Not supported
    At line:1 char:2
    + (Get-CimInstance -Namespace root/WMI -ClassName MSAcpi_ThermalZoneTem …
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo : NotImplemented: (root/WMI:MSAcpi_ThermalZoneTemperature:String) [Get-CimInstance], CimEx
    ception
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : HRESULT 0x8004100c,Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.CimCmdlets.GetCimInstanceCommand

    Does give me blood on my HP desktop.

  3. Pingback: Dew Drop – October 2, 2023 (#4037) – Morning Dew by Alvin Ashcraft

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.