Test-DSCConfiguration exceeds the maximum envelope size

I’ve recently encountered an error while I was using the Test-DSCConfiguration cmdlet:

The WS-Management service cannot process the request. The computed response packet size (519056) exceeds the maximum envelope size that is allowed (512000).

test-DSC-config-error-01

The Get-DscConfigurationStatus -All worked well and indicated that I had more than 400 resources in my config.

To fix it, I…

Set-WSManInstance -ValueSet @{MaxEnvelopeSizekb = "1000"} -ResourceURI winrm/config
dir WSMan:\localhost

…doubled the default value of 500KB and the Test-DSCConfiguration cmdlet worked back again as expected 🙂

5 thoughts on “Test-DSCConfiguration exceeds the maximum envelope size

  1. Pingback: Dew Drop – April 18, 2016 (#2232) | Morning Dew

  2. Pingback: Dew Drop – April 18, 2016 (#2232) | Tech News

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.