Testing WSUS server operational status

During the summer, someone asked the following questionwsus-monitoring-question on the WSUS patchmanagement.org mailing list.

I replied and immediately thought that Pester would do the job and quickly showed how he could test if he can connect to the console.

I’ve actually more than a WSUS server to manage. So, I started separating the environmental configuration data from the pester tests code almost the same way Mike F. Robbins did in his recent post where he goes far beyond to what I did.

I think it’s a great idea and here’s what I did in my case to monitor my WSUS server operational status.

To get started, I copied the Pester module on my WSUS server, imported the module and did in the ISE:

# helper to create the required files and folder if not present
New-Fixture -Path  ~/Documents/Pester -Name Test-WSUS
# Put the config data into that file:
psEdit ~/Documents/Pester/Test-WSUS.ps1
# Put the pester code into that file:
psEdit ~/Documents/Pester/Test-WSUS.Tests.ps1

After the first 3 commands, here’s what the ISE console looked liked
pester-new-fixture-wsus-tests

The first file Test-WSUS.ps1 looks like this by default.
It will be used to store my configuration data.
pester-wsus-tests-01

The second file Test-WSUS.Tests.ps1 is where I’ll write the pester tests code
pester-wsus-tests-02

After editing the 1rst file Test-WSUS.ps1 like this:
pester-test-wsus-file (fake data in this case)

…and the 2nd file Test-WSUS.Tests.ps1 like this:

…I’m actually ready to assess the operational readiness of my WSUS configuration by using the following cmdlet:

Invoke-Pester -Script ~/Documents/Pester/Test-WSUS.Tests.ps1

wsus-server-config-invoke-pester

I still feel like a Pester newbie but no doubt that Pester rocks 😎

3 thoughts on “Testing WSUS server operational status

    • You’re right in all the above cases, it’s not necessary.
      $() is called an expression or “sub-expression”. Everything is an object in PowerShell including strings and variables.
      It’s actually a habit that enables me to do (anything) things like:
      $($list.Length)
      $($values[$i])
      $(Get-Content File1.txt)

Leave a Reply

