Decipher Windows Update error codes

On PM.org, people sometimes ask questions and only provide the error code in various forms.
Wu-error-question
This time, it was provided as a int64.

What I usually to understand this error is locate my Get-ErrorCode function on my own blog and then browse the kb938205 page where I look for the hexadecimal value returned by my Get-ErrorCode function. Then I try give more context on PM.org.
WU-error-reply

As I repeat the same task over time, I wanted to have the answer as quick as possible. I reused some of the code of my Get-ErrorCode function and created the following gist

It works with the value supplied on the PM.org mailing list
Find-WUError-2

And you can also pass values from the pipeline šŸ˜€
Find-WUError

One thought on “Decipher Windows Update error codes

  1. Pingback: Dew Drop – January 6, 2016 (#2162) | Morning Dew

Leave a Reply

